How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of wholesale high quality the World's Favorite Literary Form sale

How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of wholesale high quality the World's Favorite Literary Form sale

How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of wholesale high quality the World's Favorite Literary Form sale
How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of wholesale high quality the World's Favorite Literary Form sale__front
How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of wholesale high quality the World's Favorite Literary Form sale__right
How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of wholesale high quality the World's Favorite Literary Form sale__after

Description

Product Description

How to Read Novels Like a Professor is a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels, making reading more enriching and satisfying. In the follow up to his wildly popular How to Read Literature Like a Professor, Thomas C. Foster provides students with tried-and-true techniques to use in analyzing some of the most important works in literary history. How to Read Novels Like a Professor shows readers how to consider and a novel''s historical fine points as well as major themes, literary models (the Bible, Shakespeare, Greek mythology, and fairy tales), and narrative devices like irony, plot, and symbol.

"By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive."-Thomas Lynch, author of The Undertaking

About the Author

Thomas C. Foster, author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor and Reading the Silver Screen, is professor emeritus of English at the University of Michigan, Flint, where he taught classes in contemporary fiction, drama, and poetry, as well as creative writing and freelance writing. He is also the author of several books on 20th-century British and Irish literature and poetry.

Product information